Writing 101: Day 6 A Character Building Experience

I woke up late today. It is such a lazy day to prepare for work. I got to buzz off my alarm three times before i finally get up and get myself ready.

As i entered the hospital people look at me with a smile on their faces. I did not know why everyone seems so friendly today.

I went to the station and proceeded with patient’s endorsement and rounds.

Almost all of my patients seems okay but one. Little miss whiny is doing it again. As I entered her room, she began to cry. Her eyes showed fear, fear of experiencing the piercing of the needles against her skin. She keeps on moving trying to get away from me. I tried to calm her ,i talked to her gently and said  ” miss krista ,it’s me your nurse, I’m here to help you get well soon”. She stopped and looked at me in the eye. Her big eyes glistened and her face lightened up. She got closer to me and i smiled back. She was silently observing everything i do. As I look at her i notice that she has a beautiful hair. Her cheeks are rosy white and her lips has more smiles than before.
I talked to her continuously, she was just silently listening and nodding at my questions. She was very happy, as if she found a new friend in me. I took a deep breathe and find myself enjoying talking to her.
As silence come across the room, she look the other way, I saw the pain in her eyes again. The agony of fighting her disease in three years revealed . I came closer and put my hands near her. I closely notice that the bruises in her legs are starting to show up, its leukemia, her immune system is really backing down I tried to touch it and she gasps. “It hurts really bad” she said, “I’m sorry” i responded , she replied with a smile but her eyes were still sad. I wanted to stay inside her room but I felt that she wanted to be alone again, I bid my farewell and hoping one day i can paint that beautiful genuine smile on her face.

_Mary

Leave a Reply

